Um Hamza’s Faith

I met my neighbor Um Hamza, whom I haven’t seen in over two years now. I had heard that two of her sons were killed in the conflict, and I was paying my respects but couldn’t hold back my tears from the sadness I was feeling towards her. Yet she surprised me with her strength and endurance, and she started showing me pictures of her sons who passed away along with pictures of their children. She told me that the rest of her children are still in Syria, and that her grandchildren are now in Turkey. He strength made me ashamed of myself, for I wish all mothers have the strength and faith  of Um Hamza.

– Um Adeeb

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

