The Toy of Sadness

“Mom, where do I put my toy?” My daughter asked me waiting for an answer. She had just gotten a barbie doll for a gift but couldn’t find anywhere to place it. She told me: “Mom I don’t have a cupboard or a bed, not even a table!” Then she surprised me with another question more bitter than the first, “How do I play with it when my sisters don’t have any toys?” Little did I know that this toy that is meant to bring joy into a child’s heart was now bringing painful memories. This is when I realized that happiness was stripped from our children and will not return.

-Um Adeeb

girls with dolls

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

