Helpless in the Face of Life

I looked at her face, and all I saw was heartbreak and pain. I asked her why, a 25 year old with three children and a university degree. She told me: “I work in wrapping grape leaves, making ‘makdous’, and ‘kubbeh’. Sometimes I get paid, but often that doesn’t happen; for this is my neighbor, that is my friend, and that is my relative, and so on…I don’t know what to do so I can secure rent for this house, I’m trying all I can. My husband can’t work and I have a story everyday with my children asking for things; prices are high, I can’t begin to describe our difficulties. I am still looking for answers…”

-Um Abdo

Leave a comment

Filed under Shelter, Work

Leave a Reply

