Anas and the Bird

“Are you Syrian?” I heard him ask the bird behind the window. “If you’re a Syrian bird tell me what happened to my city, to my neighborhood, to my school, and to my friends? If you can pass by my house, go inside it, on the second floor you will find my room. Go to my room and get me the film from the drawer; the one my father took when he was in Syria. Bring it to me so I can watch it with my father because I miss his voice and the way he talks. I want my father to see it so he can remember how he used to carry me and help me and take care of me, so he doesn’t feel bad that I am the one helping him now.”

-Um Adeeb

bird

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

