Text Messages

The doorbell rang and I answered it to find a young woman carrying some papers. She introduced herself and informed me that she works in a mobile communications company, and she went on to ask me if I have any comments about the service messages that I receive on my mobile phone. I laughed and I told her, “I was just thinking about these messages; I keep getting texts saying ‘Find out how many traffic violations you have to not be surprised later’, ‘Would you like to know how much your car is worth in the market?’, ‘Last chance to pay your property tax’, or ‘Prices are continuing to rise’. It’s as if we get these messages to remind us that we don’t have a car or a house anymore, or to remind us that prices are going up, as if we didn’t know that already. In addition to that we get text messages reminding us of water conservation, and with regards to water I don’t know where to start. Do I start by telling you that water hasn’t reached my house in a month except through water trucks? Or that we use the water left from washing dishes to flush the toilet, and the water left from washing vegetables and ablutions to water the plants and clean the house? I don’t know where to start..” After that the woman quickly apologized while realizing, “You’re Syrian”. She respectfully said goodbye and wished us a safe return to our country.

-Um Adeeb

cell-phone-texting

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Water & Sanitation

Leave a Reply

