A New Soul

I am now a mother to one child, I gave birth to her back home, and she is a Syrian citizen. However, right now in my womb is a new soul. The moment I found out I was pregnant I was overcome with fear; emotions I didn’t understand. Should I call her joy or should I name her panic? Despite my happiness, I can’t help but wish that this innocent soul was created in different circumstances.

I always wonder, what will this child’s identity be? Be it a boy or a girl. Will s/he be a Syrian citizen or a refugee? This is what I fear, and I hope will not happen.

Not a day passes that my tears do not flow down my face on a child who will come into this world with no fault except that s/he is a refugee.

-Zeina

Leave a comment

Filed under Health, Return and Resettlement

Leave a Reply

