Hope from the Midst of Pain

Hiyam is a mother longing for her two sons, her husband, and her two brothers who were detained in Syria a year ago; she hasn’t heard from them since. However, this separation and longing didn’t discourage her, as she says with hope: ‘I lost everything but I am left with hope that I return home to Syria. I pray that God returns to me my loved ones and brings my family together again. Even if in a tent above the ruins of what was once my home; this tent will be worth more to me than castles of gold as long as my sons, my husband, and my brother are all there.’ I prayed to God to listen to her pleas, and to bring back families to each other. I pray that hope will shine in their hearts and light the darkness that is inside their souls, just like it did for Hiyam despite all the pain that she has been through.

-Hamida

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Return and Resettlement

Leave a Reply

