Waves of Despair

What makes her take refuge under the wing of a sixty five year old man when she is at such a young age? She is barely twenty seven. Perhaps she sees in him a father that can protect her and be there for her. Maybe she yearns for the protection she lost after her father was killed in Syria and she had to leave her home. I tired to convince her to change her mind but it was to no avail. I tried to give her hope of returning to Syria, but I am sure that she had lost hope after she told me this: ‘There is nothing left in Syria except blood and destruction. I am tired, I want to feel safe and settled.’ I see her struggling amidst raging waves of despair, and I am afraid that they will drown her.

– Hamida

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

