I Pride Myself for My Dignity

She was hoping that all the Syrian refugees hear her story, she wants to give them hope and a way to overcome their feelings of humiliation. That woman did not stand with her hands folded, but she gathered all her strength and courage to defend her most prized possession; her dignity. She is working hard to make ends meet and provide for her family. This woman is a mother of five, she lost the eldest and another one of her sons has heart disease and needs an operation. As for her husband, he is paralyzed as a result of many injuries. When I met her she said to me: “I thank God, I am very happy despite our hardships, and the reason for my happiness is that I have retained my dignity. I am proud of what I am doing.” I asked her what kind of work she does, and she replied that she makes jams and dairy products and sells them.

This woman gave me a sense of joy; she is a living example of the Syrian woman with the strong will that does not waver no matter how strong the winds blow.

-Hamida

Leave a comment

Filed under Work

Leave a Reply

